Crime Victims Reparations Program
Victims of violence
and their families must deal with emotional and financial aftermath
of crime. The Louisiana Crime Victims Reparations
Fund helps innocent victims and their families when they have no other
means of paying for the financial cost of crime. The fund is administered
by the Crime Victims Reparations Board under the jurisdiction of the
Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement. The money in the fund comes
from people who break the law.
Basic Qualification Requirements
The crime must occur in Louisiana or the crime must involve a Louisiana
resident who becomes a victim in another state that does not have
a crime victim compensation program for which the victim would be
Reporting the Crime
The crime must be reported to a law enforcement agency within 72 hours
after the incident unless there is a good reason why the crime was
not reported within this time period.
Filing for Compensation
The application must be filed within a year of the crime unless there
is a good reason why the application was not submitted within this
The victim and/or claimant must cooperate fully with law enforcement
officials in the investigation and prosecution of the case.
Who May Qualify
An innocent victim of a violent crime who suffers physical and/or emotional
harm or death or catastrophic property loss.
A person who legally assumes the obligations or voluntarily pays certain
expenses related to the crime on behalf of the victim.
Immediate family members needing counseling as a result of the consequence
of death of the victim
Who is Not Eligible
A victim whose own behavior contributed to the crime (in those cases,
benefits may be reduced or denied).
A victim or claimant who was engaged in illegal activity at the time
An offender or an accomplice of the offender.
Anyone who as incarcerated in a penal institution when the crime occurred
or who had a felony conviction in the last five years.
Victims of motor vehicle accidents except those listed below ("What
Crimes are Covered").
What Crimes Are Covered
Crimes that involve the use of force or the threat of the use of force
and result in personal injury, death or catastrophic property loss.
Only these motor vehicle related crimes: DWI, Hit and Run, victim of
a driver who is fleeing apprehension by law enforcement, or a victim
whose injuries were intentionally inflicted with a vehicle.
What Expenses are Eligible
Reimbursement for property damage or loss is not an eligible expenses.
Approved claims may be awarded compensation for the following only
if they are related to the crime:
Reasonable medical and prescription expenses
Mental health counseling
Loss of earnings or support
Child care to enable a victim, spouse, surviving spouse of a deceased
victim, or guardian to continue employment
Reasonable replacement costs for item or items taken as evidence or
made unusable as a result of the criminal investigation.
What Expenses are Not Eligible
Expenses which may not be reimbursed for any reason include:
Property losses except for a catastrophic property loss which is limited
to the loss of your current residence provided it is owned and occupied
by the victim/claimant.
Pain and Suffering
Attorney fees except when they are part of an order from a hearing
or award by a court of law.
Limits on Awards
Total recovery may not exceed $ 10,000 unless the victim suffered total
and permanent disability. Victims who suffer total permanent disability
as a result of their victimization may qualify for $25,000.